République tchèque

City and regions of Hungary


Main cities of Hungary

The Budapest - Central Danube Region includes Budapest with its 23 districts, Pest county with its 184 population centres, 8 towns and villages from Komárom-Esztergom county and 13 from Nógrád county. The region has a population of almost 3 million; 28% of Hungary's people live here, though it constitutes only 7.4% of the country's area.

Owing to its important geographical location and role in history, the region is cultural heir both to the Roman Empire and to Christian and Modern Europe (in which the millennium-old Hungarian state is firmly rooted). Its most important attraction is the world-famous Buda Castle on the north side of the Danube (granted UNESCO World Heritage status in 1987).

Related articles


Tourism in Hungary


More info

Online-Hungary.com - All rights reserved- Our offers -